Flattery

Yesterday, whilst still in my skirt having come home from Leicester, and brazing out my wifes “looks” , I received a phone call. It came from one of those free magazines you find in railway stations and libraries, I think, and the female voice immediately started telling me how she had found me on the internet and how amazing my artworks are, and do I take commissions, and how my work would look so good in her magazine and how she only wants me and my work, no other local artists…………..at this point of course, all I can hear is lovely complimentary words…………….she then goes on to say how my work would look good alongside a particular article and it would only cost almost £300 plus vat……………………..and then she did the old ruse of going quiet whilst she spoke to her manager…………….and came back with £199 plus vat………….so how could I turn that down? This year, solo show, Cank Street Gallery, Sumo, World Mental Health Day, Notts Castle Open………….maybe I should grasp the opportunity…All my chemicals were on the up…………………gave her bank details over phone and a promise of signing the form she would send by email immediately. She wanted me to print it off, sign it, scan it, and return by email straight away, so it was a good thing we were about to go to visit sister and brother in law, and it had to wait until today.

At 4.00 am the itch on my elbow returned (still bothering me, although now it feels like bad sunburn) and I awoke……………my brain started going over everything…………..and I realised what had happened, and how I dont actually have that amount of money to spend on anything, especially something so speculative.In the meantime fb buddies have warned me off this company so today, right now, lunchtime, I have emailed my cancellation of this …………..tempted to say scam…. but i dont think its a scam, just over pressured saleswomanship, which is almost as bad, when you think about it.  We will have to wait and see for the response. Im sure its going to be unpleasant. Oh, dear.

So its back to plan A.

Tomorrow is the opening night of the Mental Health art exhibition in the Methodist Church, Bishop Street, Leicester, 7 to 9………hoping people turn up………….but what shall I wear? lol

Love all, hurt none, and walk in soft shoes

Isi Tart

Leave a Reply

