Sympathy, Apology.

OK, this might be getting tedious. Or it might not be. But its been an eye opener. What is? Well, when I first started wearing a skirt absolutely nobody seemed to give a damn. Nobody looked twice, or I didnt notice anyone looking twice anyway. Not art students. Not Joe Public. (Just the other half of my sky who objected vociferously…………for five minutes, lol). But last week, as Ive already said, I was confronted by a man in a park whilst I was trying to enjoy a sarnie, whilst wearing a skirt………….and on the same day, in Loughborough I noticed lots of people looking strangely at me.

Today I noticed the same thing in and around Leicester College…………..students looked……………..students whispered……………..a tutor (unknown) also looked judgementally, even though the lady was wearing trousers……………irony………….  It was a strange feeling. Being judged. And I suddenly realised this is akin to how girls must feel as they walk anywhere. People, men mostly (probably) looking them up and down, rating their bodies and their dress sense……………for goodness sake, Ive done it myself in the past. And its not a great feeling. I understand now, and I also understand that it isnt sexy clothes that make men look, men just look, but other women also look and judge. But the stares of men must feel intimidating a lot of the time and I fully get it now.

I apologise ladies. It was my programming. It was my hormones. It was me being jealous. Now, can I please wear my non-bifurcated clothing in peace and harmony again? Thanks

Love all, hurt none and walk in soft shoes

Isi Tart

Leave a Reply

