Skirting the subject

I watched Michael Macintyres Christmas Show yesterday, on catch up, on the magic telly box , even though these days its not so much of a box these days is it, more like a large cracker with moving images on one side of it……………anyway, back to Michael……………and his little show that contained such celebrities as a one time Carry On starlet and a chef…………….how is cooking meant to be entertainment? How does a chef  become a celebrity? He just cooks………….like lots of us do every day as it helps to keep us alive, well, the eating of the cooked food that is, although of course there are some meals which arent cooked, like Sushi, but I digress……………..the point……………well, at one point, he participated in one of those spontaneous looking things in the street (the name of which has just this minute flown out of my head and through the open window………….why do I have an open window when its just been snowing outside? brrr), anyway, it lead in the end to the appearance of Robbie Williams  singing on a roof top in Covent Garden. He was wearing a SKIRT !!!!! he looked really really smart, not kinky, not feminine, just really trendy and smart. I put this in a facebook status………..the part I didnt put was that it was a definite elephant in the room. I watched in my brother in laws home, me, wife, bro in law, sister in law, mum in law, son…………..and NOBODY  mentioned it………….I wonder why? were they embarrased for him, for themselves, for other people in the room……………..or do they wonder about me? or………………..did they really not see?

And then, on The Day, when I sneaked out to the pub with youngest son, we were chatting and I dont know how, or why, but he started to mention one of his mates who is succesful, wears a skirt, drives a jag, and has long hair…………..wait…….back up a bit……………HE ALWAYS WEARS A SKIRT………….they were his words, his exact words………..and what did I say? I said, “ah  well, thats not anything really as 75% of the worlds males wear skirts, its just european countries or the old colonies of Europe who have a problem with it.” he went quiet and i went on to tell him about MandyMac……………I missed the ideal opportunity. I should have said “actually son, sometimes I wear a skirt too, its no big deal”. But I didnt….I bloody didnt………I doubt that chance will come again………..damn it………

And although I put it on my wish list (and nobody mentioned this either, is it possible to have a literary white elephant?) I failed to recieve a kilt for Christmas.

Ah well………..

Love all, hurt none, and walk in soft shoes

Isi Tart

Leave a Reply

