H2O. Hose.

Im not a doctor. Just thought I should get that out of the way.

Im not a professional ballet dancer. Just thought I should get that out of the way too.

I say these things because……………………..first , Im sick of having this conversation with my wife; “You should see a doctor about that water retention”

“I saw a doctor about my bloodclot and he told me I would be left with water retention with no hope of a cure”…………oh, look, I cant be bothered writing the rest of the conversation , just as I cant be bothered actually having the real conversation for the umpteenth time with my missus (misses…….?…….how do you spell that? and do not say T, H , A , T……..I wont laugh). So anyway, I read up a little and it appears the issue is something to do with the slowing down of blood flow so that water is deposited around the ankles, working upward, rather than being taken away. So the answer then is to wear something that compresses that leg as I sit all day in the cab, hardly moving that leg. Which started to help. So I decided that bursts of activity, increasing the bloodflow, would also help. The cycle does this. But…………..and yes, there is always a but……….youve already met it actually, back there, at the start of this sentence. If one over does the exercise? If one fails to warm down properly? One is left with my current situation…………pain that is reminiscent of the initial bloodclot where all this started.

The second thing………..although I always wanted to be a ballet dancer but was far too shy and too scared of the consequencies of living in that council estate to pursue it, I did take lessons at the tender age of 39 and loved every minute of it…………..until I dislocated my knee. I know many positions. I also know that in the end, my knees were giving me jip as these positions are quite unnatural and unless you can turn your legs within your hips you will end up like I did…….

So, what am I saying? I think Im saying that a little knowledge is a dangerous thing.

On the plus side one required me to wear tights and the other allowed me to wear tights. So its no all bad, hehehehhe

Love all, hurt none, and walk in soft shoes

Isi Tart      M18601609

Leave a Reply

