Old New, Young Old, Vintage Wine

I often look back through old sketch books and realize I was on to something back then, yet somehow, failed to see it at the time and even more incredibly still fail to take it anywhere. Here are some examples;

11930818_873850785996856_7693999484492252708_o       IMG_20150210_192539     just two quick examples. I am, in a nutshell, my own worst enemy. I sometimes accuse other people of this, one in particular recently in not so many words, which is really glib ( : said or done too easily or carelessly : showing little preparation or thought  —  http://www.merriam-webster.com/) of me. Maybe I can see it in others because Im projecting myself onto them? No, that wouldnt work……….to do that one has to project ones own issues onto another person who doesnt actually share those issues, so, no, maybe its because I know about this within myself that helps me to see it in others. And I dont like it in others. So I dont like it in me. Simples !!! yep , thats what that is. Anyway, the images on the left I still have in my sketchbook, and there were others similarly created. So I could reproduce them, enlarge them, create a whole series of paintings/collages . The one on the right was on fibre board, which got grotty on the corners so it got chucked ( chuck ;

(tʃʌk)

vb (mainly tr)

1. to throw
2. to pat affectionately, esp under the chin
3. (sometimes foll by: in or up) to give up; reject: he chucked up his job; she chucked her boyfriend.
4. (usually foll by: up) US to vomit
5. chuck off at Austral and NZ to abuse or make fun of
n

6. a throw or toss
7. a playful pat under the chin
8. the chuck dismissal  )
thefreedictionary.com
so its not there except in grainy photograph form, but i could employ the same technique. Why dont I ? I really dont know.
So I think that OLD NEW, YOUNG OLD, covered so what, I hear you ask from a great distance, is VINTAGE WINE?
iTS, hang on, that should be Its, thats better, Its the name we called our pub quiz team last night. Me, Wife, 76 years young neighbour and my 85 years young mum………..we did alright, although we didnt win. Joan said there werent enough (any) questions on Agincourt, or the Tudor dynasty, Mum said she couldnt hear anything as it echoes around her hearing aid and becomes just white noise, Agnes got one right which is 100% more than she expected and I did what I was told, lol……….anyway , there was a raffle after that and of the four of us I was the only one to buy a strip……………I was, therefore, the only one in the team to win when it got drawn ( 

verb (used with object), drew, drawn, drawing.
1.

to cause to move in a particular direction by or as if by a pulling force;pull; drag (often followed by along, away, in, out, or off).
2.

to bring, take, or pull out, as from a receptacle or source:

to draw water from a well.
3.

to bring toward oneself or itself, as by inherent force or influence;attract:

The concert drew a large audience.
4.

to sketch (someone or something) in lines or words; delineate; depict:

to draw a vase with charcoal; to draw the comedy’s characters withskill.
: http://dictionary.reference.com/ )
and yet, apparently, we all have to share in the two £20 vouchers I , yes, I WON !!! ha ha, I guess thats the nature of teams. So the day ended really well………sort of……….
Love all, hurt none, and walk in soft shoes (there may be a blog on that very subject tomorrow, or not, depends)
Isi Tart
Leave a Reply

