Christmas Songs

Last night I was, sadly, forced to watch some of the Michael Bubbles xmas show. Fortunately TOHOTS forgot it was on so we only watched the end. He sang a duet with Celine Dion…………..”HAPPY XMAS (WAR IS OVER)”.

omg

My first complaint to TOHOTS was that they would just ruin an iconic Lennon/Ono song.

My second complaint was that they didnt realise the irony of the song……..i mean to say…………So this is xmas, and what have you done? another year over, and a new one just begun………..war is over, if you want it………..the irony being that war isnt over because not enough people want it to be.

My third complaint was the ommission of Yoko’s part of the duet, where she sings WAR IS OVER, IF YOU WANT IT, WAR IS OVER, NOWOWOWOW. I said to TOHOTS, I bet they dont sing that part, and they didnt, which itself ruined the song.

Then I said and I bet after this song he talks about American troops which is why he couldnt sing about war being over………….and guess what………..I was right !

For fuck sake, is there nothing these yanks wont do in order to continue in their wars?

But speaking about ironic songs, what about IMAGINE? again by Lennon. So many people have it at their funerals and vicars allow it………Imagine theirs no heaven, it isnt hard to do, no hell below us, above us only sky……….what the heck do they think he is singing about?

Oh, and perhaps the best, and my personal favourite (it isnt xmas until Ive heard it on the radio)……….FAIRYTALE OF NEW YORK………….which must be the most anti xmas song ever played at xmas……..and only at xmas………………..does nobody listen to the lyrics?!

Its all very amusing………….except Im STILL pissed off with Bubbles and Dion for wrecking a Lennon/Ono song…………and why didnt Ono ban them from singing it? Somebody told me that she now has no choice as the time scale for copyright is only 30 years……..I dont know if thats true or not. ……. somehow I dont think so, which means she either didnt know they were going to do that, or she sold out for money. I recall at the time they paid for billboards in New York to bare/bear (?) the slogan, WAR IS OVER IF YOU WANT IT……………how times change. Im so sad. Lennon will be turning in his grave, metaphorically of course.

Love all, hurt none, and walk in soft shoes

Isi Tart

Leave a Reply

